The Republic of Ireland

The Republic of Ireland gained independence in 1921. The Constitution of Ireland, adopted in 1937, says that the name of the country is Éire, or, in the English language, Ireland. Its population is approximately 4.6 mln. The capital is Dublin with the population of 1.8 mln. Other major cities are: Cork, Limerick, Galway and Waterford. The country consists of 34 administrative divisions. There are two official languages: English and Irish (also known as Gaelic). The Republic of Ireland joined the the European Economic Community (later known as the European Union) in 1973 and in 2002 the euro was introduced. The dominant religion is Christianity. Around 87% of the population is Catholic and less than 4 per cent Protestant.

The coat of arms is the gold harp with silver strings on a blue background.



The flag is a tricolour of green, white and orange. Each stripe has a meaning: the green represents Catholics or the Republican community, the orange is the colour associated with Protestant Ulster and the white refers to the peace between the two.



The national anthem is "The Soldier's song". The text was written by Peadar Kearney in 1907. The music was composed by Peadar Kearney and Patrick Heeney. The song was officially adopted as the national anthem in 1926.

The Constitution of Ireland is the fundamental law of the Republic of Ireland. It came into force on 29 December 1937.

The President (Tánaiste) of Ireland is Head of State of Ireland and the Supreme Commander of the Irish Defence Forces. The President holds office for seven years, and can be elected for a maximum of two terms. Every citizen of thirty-five years of age or over is eligible for the office. The current president is Michael D. Higgins, who was elected on 29 October 2011.



Michael D. Higgins

The National Parliament (Oireachtas) consists of the President and two Houses: Dáil Éireann (House of Representatives) and Seanad Éireann (the Senate). The President appoints the **Taoiseach (Prime Minister)** on the nomination of Dáil Éireann and the other members of the Government on the nomination of the Taoiseach, after Dáil approval. The current Prime Minister is Leo Varadkar.



Leo Varadkar